19 January 2011

Cricket Ireland today announced their final squad for the 2011 World Cup which is being held in Bangladesh, India and Sri Lanka from February 19 to April 2.

Ireland will travel to Dubai on January 28 for a pre World Cup training camp, and have scheduled warm-up games against New Zealand and Zimbabwe in Nagpur before their first game in the competition proper against Bangladesh in Dhaka on February 25.

Ireland has been drawn in Group B alongside Bangladesh, India, England, the Netherlands, South Africa and West Indies.

The squad in full is as follows:

  • William Porterfield (Warwickshire) (Captain)
  • Andre Botha (North County)
  • Alex Cusack (Clontarf)
  • George Dockrell (Somerset)
  • Trent Johnston (Railway Union)
  • Nigel Jones (Civil Service North)
  • Ed Joyce (Sussex)
  • John Mooney (North County)
  • Kevin O’Brien (Railway Union)
  • Niall O’Brien (Northants)  
  • Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire)
  • Paul Stirling (Middlesex)
  • Albert van der Merwe (The Hills)
  • Gary Wilson (Surrey)
  • Andrew White (Instonians)

The four non-travelling reserves are

  • Allan Eastwood (Pembroke)
  • Andrew Poynter (Clontarf)
  • Regan West (Civil Service North)
  • Craig Young (Bready/Sussex)

The Irish group matches and venues are:

·        Ireland v Bangladesh             Dhaka           Fri 25th Feb

·        Ireland v England                 Bangalore          Wed 2nd March

·        Ireland v India                    Bangalore          Sun 6th March

·        Ireland v West Indies            Mohali            Fri 11th March

·        Ireland v South Africa            Kolkata                    Tue 15th March

·        Ireland v Holland           Kolkata                   Fri 18th March

« Back to News