26 June 2009

Cricket Ireland has announced the squad for the forthcoming ICC European Under 19 Championships in Jersey from July 14-20.

The squad will be captained by Andrew Balbirnie, who today scored an unbeaten century for Ireland 'A' in their three wicket defeat to a Yorkshire XI.
Team manager Brian Walsh is happy with the composition of the squad saying: "We have great balance and depth both in the bowling and the batting. We have good seam bowlers, and plenty of options in the spin department."
"The batting is undoubtedly our main strength, with Paul Stirling a regular in the full international side. We also have quite a few players on the books of English counties, and if we play to our full potential, then I'm confident we will progress to the next qualification stage."
Two teams from the European region progress to a ten team qualifying competition due to be held in Canada at the start of September. Five teams will then progress to the Under 19 World Cup proper, which has been switched from Kenya to New Zealand.
Ireland have named 13 players initially, as they are awaiting clearance on the 14th player from ICC Europe, and will release his name once permission has been granted. The four reserves will also be announced at that time.
The 13 players are:
  • Andrew Balbirnie (Captain) (Pembroke)
  • Jack Blakiston-Houston (Strabane)
  • George Dockrell (Leinster)
  • Shane Getkate (Malahide)
  • Graeme McCarter (Killyclooney)
  • Graeme McDonnell (Pembroke)
  • Lee Nelson (Waringstown)
  • Stuart Poynter (Middlesex)
  • Eddie Richardson (North County)
  • James Shannon (Instonians)
  • Paul Stirling (Carrickfergus)
  • Stuart Thompson (Eglinton)
  • Craig Young (Bready)
  • 14th player still to be confirmed
  • Matt Dwyer (Coach)
  • Brian Walsh (Manager)

« Back to News