17 August 2007

Ireland have made just the one change to their squad for the Intercontinental Cup fixture which takes place from August 23-26 at Clontarf

Dominick Joyce replaces the unavailable Eoin Morgan, who has commitments with his county Middlesex - they play Gloucestershire in the County Championship, and also have a Pro 40 fixture with Kent.

Eoin Morgan and Ed Joyce are both featuring in the current county game against Northamptonshire, and they experienced fluctuating fortunes on the 3rd day. Joyce hit 107 as he shared in a 196 run partnership with Owais Shah, but Morgan departed without scoring.

Morgan's replacement, 26 year old Dominick Joyce has played 69 times for Ireland, scoring 1518 runs at an average of exactly 23.00. The right hander is currently second in the domestic averages in Leinster, averaging over fifty. He has scored 11 half centuries for Ireland, but has yet to score a century, his highest score being 67 against Wiltshire in 2001.

Ireland coach Phil Simmons said of his squad, "I was pleased with our form during the drawn game with Scotland (Ireland gained 9 points by virtue of a first innings lead in the rain affected game), and we managed to put together two significant partnerships. The wicket was fairly placid, so it was a great effort by our bowlers on the first day, but they know they can do better than they showed on day two. Unfortunately we are without Eoin, but I like what I've seen in Dominick - although he's played a lot of cricket for Ireland, he's still only 26, and has his best years as a batsman in front of him."

Stephen Kirkpatrick, Head of Banking, Bank of Ireland NI said, "I'd like to wish the Irish team every success against Bermuda as they continue their quest to win the trophy for a 3rd successive time. It's been a marvellous year for Irish cricket, and as official team sponsor, Bank of Ireland is proud to be part of it."

The squad in full is as follows:

  • Trent Johnston (Railway Union) Captain
  • Andre Botha (North County)
  • Alex Cusack (Clontarf)
  • Thinus Fourie (Merrion)
  • Dominick Joyce (Merrion)
  • Dave Langford-Smith (Phoenix)
  • Kyle Mc Callan (Waringstown)
  • Kevin O' Brien (Railway Union)
  • Niall O' Brien (Railway Union)
  • Greg Thompson (Lisburn)
  • William Porterfield (Rush)
  • Andrew White (Instonians)


« Back to News