20 November 2007

The Irish Cricket Union Management yesterday passed a unanimous recommendation to the Executive Committee that the new Board of the Irish Cricket Union should consist of 11 Directors...

...six nominated by the Provincial Unions (2 from Northern Cricket Union and from Leinster; 1 each from North-West and Munster) with four appointed externally based on specified skills and experiences to be identified by a Nominations Committee. The last Director will be the incoming Chairman, David Williams.

The Executive Committee will now meet on December 9th with an EGM to be convened at the end of January to close the existing business with a view to incorporation on February 1, 2008. It is intended to have the first Board meeting soon thereafter and an AGM of the new company in March.

It was also decided unanimously to approve professionals in the Bob Kerr Irish Senior Cup, and they will feature in the opening round on May 10th 2008.

Current ICU Chairman Dr Murray Power said, "I'm delighted with the progress we are making, and with the level of consensus that has been achieved about the shape of our future governance arrangements. We are well on course to meet our target of having the new Board up and running before the start of the 2008 season."

« Back to News