16 May 2007

The Irish Cricket Union today announced a squad of 13 for the InterContinental Cup final with Canada, which gets under way at Grace Road, Leicester.

Ireland haven't been able to secure the release of either Boyd Rankin or Niall O' Brien from their respective counties, but Middlesex have allowed Eoin Morgan to play. Andre Botha misses out on selection due to a finger injury.
Ireland are of course the defending champions, having defeated Kenya in Windhoek in 2005.
Ireland coach Phil Simmons said, "We have played a lot of one day cricket over the last few months, so it will be something different with the four day format. The team played exceptionally well to defeat UAE so comprehensively, and I'll be looking for a similar performance. It's unfortunate that we haven't got either Boyd or Niall, but we have got a lot of talent and experience in the squad."
Stephen Kirkpatrick, Head of Retail Banking, Bank of Ireland NI said, "I wish the team well in their defence of the InterContinental Cup. Hopefully it will be another successful chapter in what has already been a fantastic year."
The squad in full is as follows:
  • Trent Johnston (Railway Union) Captain
  • Jeremy Bray (Eglinton)
  • Kenny Carroll (Railway Union)
  • Thinus Fourie (Merrion)
  • Peter Gillespie (Strabane)
  • Dave Langford-Smith (Phoenix)
  • Kyle Mc Callan (Waringstown)
  • Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)
  • Kevin O' Brien (Railway Union)
  • William Porterfield (Donemana)
  • Roger Whelan (Railway Union)
  • Andrew White (Instonians)
  • Gary Wilson (Surrey)

« Back to News